Stacks Image 43

Welcome to the virtual home of the Iyer-Biswas laboratory, located in the
Department of Physics, Purdue University. To learn more about the PI, please visit the Group page.

Discovering physical principles that govern stochastic single-cell behavior, and transcend the details of specific biological systems, is the primary focus of our research. In recent works (using
experiments and theory), we have found the scaling laws governing the stochastic growth and division of individual cells under steady-state growth conditions. To continue to explore what we do, please visit our Research page.

Interested in joining our group? Please
contact me for postdoctoral, graduate and undergraduate research opportunities.

Selected awards and honors

  • Sri Iyer-Biswas is an invited lecturer at the 2019 NSF q-bio Summer School, Rice University.
  • Sri Iyer-Biswas is an invited lecturer at the 2019 Complex Systems Summer School, Santa Fe Institute.
  • Sri Iyer-Biswas is an invited Advisory Board member of the JSMF-SFI theme on Complex Time: Adaptation, Aging, & Arrow of Time.
  • Kunaal Joshi is awarded the Peter Salamon Award for attending the Telluride Science Research Workshop on “Emergent Simplicity in Biophysical Dynamics”.
  • Sri Iyer-Biswas is a visiting member of faculty for Fall 2018 at Harvard Medical School (Systems Biology).
  • Sri Iyer-Biswas is an invited panelist at the 2018 Conference for Pretenure Women.
  • Michael Carlson is awarded the Lynn Fellowship.
  • Dawith Lim receives the Science Alumni Summer Research Fellowship.
  • Sri Iyer-Biswas is an invited lecturer at the 2018 Complex Systems Summer School, Santa Fe Institute.
  • Sri Iyer-Biswas receives the 2018 Showalter Trust Award.
  • Rachel Taubman is awarded a 2018 NSF REU Fellowship.
  • Adam Guerin is named a 2018 OUR Scholar.
  • Edwina Sunny receives the 2018 Lijuan Wang Memorial Award.
  • Dawith Lim receives the 2018 Richard W. King Memorial Award.
  • Sri Iyer-Biswas wins the Ruth and Joel Spira Award for Outstanding Undergraduate Teaching.
  • Adam Guerin is awarded a 2018 REU Fellowship by NYU.
  • Jake Crosser is inducted into the American Society for Biochemistry and Molecular Biology Honor Society.
  • Adam Guerin is awarded the “Louis Stokes Alliance for Minority Participation” research scholarship.
  • Sri Iyer-Biswas chairs a session for the “Thermodynamics of Computation” workshop, Santa Fe Institute.
  • Sri Iyer-Biswas is appointed an External Professor of the Santa Fe Institute.
  • Sri Iyer-Biswas is awarded a collaborative grant by the Gordon and Betty Moore Foundation.
  • Brandon Walker is awarded the Five-years Provost’s Graduate Excellence Fellowship by UT Austin.
  • Sri Iyer-Biswas is an invited lecturer at the 2017 q-bio Summer School, Colorado.
  • Elizabeth Spears receives the 2017 Lijuan Wang Award.
  • Andrew Santos receives the 2017 College of Science Outstanding Student Award.
  • Emma Dawson receives a 2017 Rossing Physics honorable mention award.
  • Dawith Lim is awarded a 2017 Spira Summer Research Fellowship.
  • Sri Iyer-Biswas is named a 2017 Scialog Fellow for Molecules Come to Life.
  • Sri Iyer-Biswas receives an Outstanding Research Presentation award at the 2017 Gordon Research Conference on Stochastic Physics in Biology.
  • Jacob McNutt is awarded a 2017 Summer Stay Scholar Award.
  • Chandler Nielsen is awarded a 2017 Summer Stay Scholar Award.
  • Sri Iyer-Biswas receives a 2017 Purdue Research Foundation grant.
  • Emma Dawson is awarded a 2017 NSF REU Fellowship.
  • Andrew Santos is named a 2017 Ascarelli Scholar.
  • Samuel Eschker is awarded an NSF Statistics Living-Learning Community Fellowship.
  • Emma Dawson is awarded a 2016 NSF REU Fellowship.
  • Elizabeth Spears is awarded a 2016 Summer Stay Scholar Award.
  • Jed Riebling is awarded a 2016 Summer Research Award by the Purdue Research Foundation.
  • Sri Iyer-Biswas receives a 2016 Purdue Research Foundation grant.
  • Sri Iyer-Biswas is an invited lecturer at the 2015 Gene Mazenko Symposium, Chicago.

Selected invited presentations

  • Laws of Life, Time and Chance, SFI Community Lecture at the Lensic Theatre, Santa Fe.
  • Aspen Workshop on Information Processing in Single Cells, Aspen Center for Physics.
  • Telluride Workshop on Emergent Simplicity in Biophysical Dynamics.
  • Santa Fe Institute Colloquium, Santa Fe.
  • Gordon Research Conference on Stochastic Physics in Biology at Ventura.
  • Laufer Center seminar, Stony Brook University.
  • Biophysics seminar, Arizona State University.
  • LASSP and AEP seminar, Cornell University.
  • Condensed Matter seminar, UMass Amherst.
  • Theory seminar, Systems Biology, Harvard Medical School.
  • Northwestern Institute on Complex Systems Seminar, Northwestern University.
  • Physics colloquium, Emory University.
  • Center for the Physics of Living Systems seminar, MIT.
  • Biosciences colloquium, Purdue University.
  • Theory in Biology meeting of the Simons Foundation, Boston University.
  • Kavli Institute for Theoretical Physics, Santa Barbara.
  • Center for Theoretical Biological Physics seminar, Rice University.
  • Physics colloquium, IUPUI.
  • Biophysics seminar, Georgia Tech.
  • Physics colloquium, Virginia Tech.
  • Center for Soft Matter and Biological Physics seminar, Virginia Tech.
  • Physics colloquium, University of Illinois at Chicago.
  • Santa Fe Institute seminar.
  • Purdue Physical Chemistry seminar.
  • Telluride Workshop on The Complexity of Dynamics and Kinetics from Single Molecules to Cells.
  • Biophysics seminar, Colorado State University, Fort Collins.
  • NSF-QCB Workshop on Cells as Dynamical Systems, San Francisco.
  • APS March Meeting, New Orleans.
  • Genetics seminar, Washington University in St. Louis.
  • Santa Fe Institute complexity seminar.
  • MidQBio Symposium, UIUC.
  • Telluride Workshop on Single Molecules: Theory Meets Experiment.
  • Telluride Workshop on Information Engines at the Frontiers of Nanoscale Thermodynamics.
  • Physics colloquium, Purdue University.
  • Center for Soft Matter Research colloquium, New York University.
  • Genetics, Bioinformatics and Computational Biology seminar, Virginia Tech.
  • National Institute of Standards and Technology colloquium.
  • Statistical Physics seminar, University of Maryland.
  • IEEE-EMBS Conference, Chicago.
  • Physics of Living Cells seminar, UIUC.